Princediaries

Just Because I am Different

You told me that beauty is from within,
You also said that beauty never fades,
Because its an inborn sparkle,
That glows even when one is old and grey, right mum?
But why then do they stare at my face and laugh?
Do I really look like a joke?

Most of the days I pretend to ignore it,
Like it affects me not,
For your words echo between my ears,
But I am human too,
I am weak, frail and fragile deep inside.

I smile with with tears in my eyes,
Just to mask the hurt that I feel.
I laugh with sadness in my voice,
Just to show that it does not get to me.
I walk with my head high though in fear,
Convincing myself that I can do it.
But deep down I am crushing.

Mum, how do I tell them this?
How can I make them understand that it’s not my own making?
How do I make them realise that I did not choose this?
That I am just another human trying to survive.

I never chose to be “ugly” as they put it,
Because no one chooses who they are,
No one decides how they are made,
But only chooses what to become.

Mother, It hurts when they laugh at me,
And I have grown a thick skin to handle that,
It’s also painful when they isolate me,
For I am despicable according to them,
That I am not even worthy,
To breath the same air as them,
Not that I care about that either.
But what kills me everyday is when they bully me,
Do I really deserve that mum?
Just because I am different from them?

2 thoughts on “Just Because I am Different”

Comments are closed.